Over 100 governments lack wildfire plans

One hundred and eighteen out of British Columbia's 189 local governments don't have community wildfire protection plans, according to a document provided by the ministry of forests and range to New Democrat critic Norm Macdonald. Earlier this month, the ministry wasn't able to accurately verify a list of 112 such governments identified by Public Eye - in one instance, mistakenly claiming that Peace River's plan covered incorporate communities within the regional district. But, 21 days later, the ministry seems to have straightened up its act. "It's information that should have been made public a long time ago," commented Mr. Macdonald.

But, he stressed, "The important part is actually getting the work done. It's been five years (since the Filmon Report). These should have been done immediately. But now we have to make sure the work is done."

Earlier, Public Eye exclusively reported the ministry wasn't keeping an eye on to what extent those plans have been acted on.

The plans often include recommendations ranging from buying forest fire fighting equipment and changing bylaws to thinning out wooded areas that, if left alone, could increase the chances or severity of such a blaze.

The following is a complete list of the 118 local governments that don't have protection plans, based on the aforementioned document.

Please note not all of the communities under the jurisdiction of those governments may have a "high probability and consequence of fire in the interface zone."

The Filmon Report recommended all such at-risk communities be required to have a protection plan.

Communities in urban areas, for example, wouldn't need a plan.



Alert Bay, Village of
Armstrong, City of
Ashcroft, Village of
Barriere, District of
Burnaby, City of
Cache Creek, Village of
Canal Flats *
Central Saanich, District of
Chase, Village of
Chetwynd, District of
Chilliwack, City of
Clearwater, District of
Coldstream, District of
Colwood, City of
Comox, Town of
Cranbrook, City of
Cumberland, Village of
Dawson Creek, City of
Delta, District of
Duncan, City of
Esquimalt, Township of
Fort Nelson, Town of
Fort St. James, District of
Fort St. John, City of
Fraser Lake, Village of
Fruitvale, Village of
Gibsons, Town of
Gold River, Village of
Grand Forks, City of
Granisle, Village of *
Greenwood, City of
Harrison Hot Springs, Village of
Hazelton, Village of
Highlands, District of *
Hope, District of
Invermere, District of *
Kaslo, Village of
Kent, District of
Keremeos, Village of
Kitimat, District of
Ladysmith, Town of
Lake Country, District of
Lake Cowichan, Town of
Langford, City of
Langley, City of
Langley, Township of
Lantzville, District of
Lumby, Village of *
Lytton, Village of
Masset, Village of
McBride, Village of
Metchosin, District of
Midway, Village of
Montrose, Village of
Nakusp, Village of
Nanaimo, City of
Nelson, City of
New Denver, Village of
New Hazelton, District of
New Westminster, City of
North Saanich, District of
North Vancouver, City of
North Vancouver, District of
Oak Bay, District of
Oliver, Town of
Osoyoos, Town of
Penticton, City of *
Port Alberni, City of
Port Alice, Village of
Port Clements, Village of *
Port Coquitlam, City of
Port Edward, District of
Port Hardy, District of
Port McNeill, Town of
Pouce Coupe, Village of
Powell River, City of *
Prince Rupert, City of
Queen Charlotte, Village of
Richmond, City of
Rossland, City of *
Saanich, District of
Salmo, Village of
Salmon Arm, City of
Sayward, Village of
Sechelt, District of
Sechelt, Indian Government District of
Sicamous, District of
Sidney, Town of
Silverton, Village of
Slocan, Village of
Sooke, District of
Stewart, District of
Surrey, City of
Tahsis, Village of
Taylor, District of
Terrace, City of
Tofino, District of
Trail, City of
Ucluelet, District of
Vanderhoof, District of
Victoria, City of
Warfield, Village of
Wells, District of
Westside, District of *
White Rock, City of
Zeballos, Village of

Regional Districts

Alberni-Clayoquot *
Columbia Shuswap
Comox Valley
Fraser Valley
Islands Trust
Kootenay-Boundary *
Mount Waddington
North Okanagan *
Northern Rockies
Powell River
Skeena-Queen Charlotte

* = "in the process of completing" a community wildfire protection plan

1 Comment

#1. Good catch.

#2. Okay, I'm going to have fun with this...

Perhaps the City of Langley has a plan to fight wildfires in two words: Mary. Polak.

Perhaps the Township of Langley has a similar plan in... Jordan. Bateman.

Perhaps the City of Victoria thinks wrongly that PublicEyeOnline will fight wildfires... or will Victorians simply sacrifice all those wonderful seasonal visitors called MLAs to the bonfire of the vanities the BC rabble will light on the outskirts?

Perhaps the Town of Sidney expects Washington State to ferry over such a plan?

#3. Puns aside, what a stinking embarassment this must be to British Columbians after the wildfires of recent years. It pay$ to support this blog - I did.

Leave a comment

Copyright © 2004 - Public Eye Mediaworks. Reproductions of any portion of this Website are permitted only with the expressed permission of Public Eye Mediaworks.
Canadian Web Hosting graciously provided by dotcanuck Web Services. Layout and graphics courtesy of Art Department Design.